The Beth Coat

Hi All,

I have wanted to knit this jacket/coat for a long time now, ever since my mom knitted hers 2 years ago. I wanted to do a test run so I was lucky that she had loads of chunky wool she didn’t want anymore.

The pattern is worked in double moss stitch so it’s textured and warm, I also like the A line shape and bell shaped sleeves. Here’s a link to the book/pattern 

I’m showcasing my new bobble hat in the photos too, it’s from the same pattern I made the square hats in my last post.

Here is photographic proof!

Jacket Front

Overlapped split in sleeves, I’ll sew wooden buttons there

I will be looking for some wooden buttons to tie it all together, 3 on the front and 1 on each sleeve.

I made it shorter than the pattern requires

I made it shorter than the pattern requires

Bell Sleeve

Close on the hat

Close on the hat. I want to cover it in skulls

I wore this today and my hairdresser wants a longer version this jacket, which is great! I’m a fast knitter so I’m always looking for something new to do (this took me between 2-3 weeks to make) and I want to make a purple version for myself too.

I should start on sewing a jacket at some point, one step at a time!

 

Montana

 

 

 

11 Responses to “The Beth Coat”

  1. I love this! Well done on knitting this your self. I think it has a cool retro early sixties look.

  2. Lovely! You look great!

  3. […] Creatively Weird… (amongst other things). « The Beth Coat […]

  4. I love the texture! Awesome knitting.

  5. […] Long Coat I’ll most certainly be making a longer version of my Beth coat! It’s warm, has a lovely texture and I get compliments when I wear it. This time […]

Leave a Reply

