Little Red Skater Dress

Hi All,

Well I finally made a skater dress after looking at a load of indie patterns and DIY tutorials.

I decided to draft my own pattern from a figure hugging dress, I traced around it to my natural waist, I used this tutorial as a guide.

The material I used is highly stretchable so I found it easy to work with and I think it suits this dress. I’m in the middle of making another dress with black fabric called scuba… I think it’s called that because it’s thick.

Here’s the outcome

Skater Dress 1

Skater Dress

I think it’s really short so I thought I should only wear this with tights or leggings, but after seeing the photos I like it and I’ll wear a pair of short shorts with it.

Skater Back

J said I like like a tennis player due to my wide back, I like that

Flare

 

Lucy liked my dress too

Lucy liked my dress too

Above is what it looks like flared out, I think the skirt hangs slightly lower on the sides. It’s different and I don’t want to cut it shorter as it’s short enough.

I’ll be working on my black skater dress… it has sleeves!

Montana

5 Responses to “Little Red Skater Dress”

  1. Look at you, Legs Mcfrisky! this is really sharp on you.

  2. I’m working on this dress. I like your version, it makes me smile.

  3. […] have made three (and a half) skater dresses altogether and I want to make more, I can’t get enough of them! They are quick to sew, […]

Leave a Reply

