Black Waves

Hi All,

This is a mini tutorial kind of thingy, if I haven’t explained clearly enough please feel free to ask any questions via comments 🙂

After I made my cowl dress I wanted to make a cowl top but with a deep plunge this time. I searched online to see how others created their tops and I went along with the mirrored front effect but I placed my bodice diagonally to create more drape. I also mirrored the top half to create a facing for the neckline and armholes.

I drew a large T and then drew around my bodice blocks at a tilt. I flipped it on the other side of the T but further away from the centre line.

I drew a large T and then drew around my bodice blocks at a tilt. I flipped it on the other side of the T but further away from the centre line.

If you’d like your top to be more fitted at the sides it’s as simple as taking them in a few inches or so, just make sure it’s and equal amount on either side.

Cowl Top Front

This is how it looks when the facing is folded down and sewn at the shoulder and side seams

I sewn the back to the front and zigzaged all edges (which gave the hem a nice frill affect). The end result is below, I’m very happy with how it turned out, it looks elegant… which is slightly new to me.

Cowly

 

A great perk about this top is, it’s good for those fat days or as a maternity top! It skims over the tummy so it hides your bump perfectly (fyi I’m not pregnant, it’s just an idea).

 

Side View

A nice side view close up

It was raining before but I couldn't wait to take pics, so here's a fun one!

It was raining before but I couldn’t wait to take pics, so here’s a fun one!

I’m so please that this self drafted pattern has turned out so well! It reminds me of the top in Drape Drape , I think I’ll recreate it using this pattern! Two fronts should do the trick… I’m worried about actually wearing it once it’s made.

Montana

2 Responses to “Black Waves”

  1. VeraVenus Says:

    that is a fab top!

Leave a Reply

