Short & Sweet

Hi All,

As you may have guessed, I really like making skater dresses, they’re easy, quick and they are SO comfortable to wear. I was inspired to make them as I saw loads of versions being made using an indie pattern designer (Kitschy Coo), I thought I’d test my own pattern making skills. So far, so good, the only problem I have is them being too short… I think I can pull it off for now!

I’ll take you through a little tutorial before I show the finished result

I made the bodice pattern by drawing round a fitted t shirt, I did the same with with the sleeves

Bodice

 

 

Using my measurements I cut a circular skirt

Quarter

Half

I have a sudden craving for  a doughnut

I have a sudden craving for a gothic doughnut

 

Once the sleeves are attached to the bodice, you can do the same and attach the skirt to the bodice. I inserted pleats to both sides of the skirt as it was too wide. I hemmed the sleeves and added a folded over 1″ band to the neckline and left the skirt hem raw.

Here is my fitted (read tight) dress, I do feel like a lady with all these nice dresses!

I t took me a while to make this as I ran out of fabric, when that happens I start on a new project where I do have the fabric.

This is wearable and I do like it but there are a few cons. It squashes my bust, like I have one to begin with!! The other problem is the bodice is short, it should be on my natural waist but it’s more under bust. I don’t mind too much, I know next time to grade up when using thicker, stretch fabrics.

Oh, I have another skater dress to finish. The bodice is done, I need to sort out the skirt.

Montana

One Response to “Short & Sweet”

  1. […] used the same pattern I used for my other skaters, I free hand cut the skirts from my waist measurements for each […]

Leave a Reply

