Polo Skirt

Hi All,

I have returned to my refashioning for a bit and decided to try it out on an oversized polo shirt. As it had buttons on the front I looked around for a tutorial to find the best way to cut it without the skirt being too short, I used this one which was very helpful.

These are the before and after photos

_20140704_164341_20140704_164359

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The changes I made from the tutorial were I slightly gathered the front of the skirt so it fit the “yoga” waistband and I used some scrap jersey fabric for that waistband.

It turned out better than I expected it to, I wore it today with my “Black Waves” cowl top. It looks like I’m wearing a dress from afar.

Pose copy

Skirt copy

Odd pleat/gathering effect in the front

Waistband copy

I like the little split in the sides

 

Front B copy

 

I like this project as it was quick and I didn’t have a spend money on it really, those are some of the best projects.

These photos would have been better were they taken outside but I had been out and I didn’t want to take awkward photos in the back garden as I think the lady next door thinks I’m a vain nutter as it is.

Maybe next time I’ll feel better about an out doorsy photo shoot. I’m planning on sewing a dress to wear to a wedding and a swim suit at some point… that would have to be indoors.

Montana

2 Responses to “Polo Skirt”

  1. I like it alot! I am no refashioner- it all looks twrrible when I try- you got skills!

Leave a Reply

