Square Skater

Hi All, 

I have made three (and a half) skater dresses altogether and I want to make more, I can’t get enough of them! They are quick to sew, comfortable to wear and I can change the style/cut of it slightly so it looks different each time I make one.

I think this one is my favourite so far, although I like them all as I’ve made them, but this one is colour blocked and has a square skirt also known as a handkerchief skirt.

I used the same pattern I used for my other skaters, I free hand cut the skirts from my waist measurements for each one.

Here’s the evidence!

I cut the slightly lower so it sits lower on my waist

I cut the slightly lower so it sits lower on my waist    

I decided to make contrasting sleeves like those raglan t shirts. I also contrasted the back to the front so it would be easier to see which way round to wear it without looking at the neckline.

Draped affect

Draped affect

 

 

The grey sleeves match the back

The grey sleeves match the back

I cut the slightly lower so it sits lower on my waist

I like how changing the shape of the skirt can make this look so different.

Full pic of shape

This is how the skirt looks if it was laid flat

Uncut photo of skirt shape

Uncut photo of skirt shape

I have been meaning to make a square skirt skater for a long time, I just ended up making other things and forgetting about it. I still need to cut a skirt for one more skater (that’s why I said half before), I want  square shape for that one but with the points in the front and back.

I really like this dress and needless to say I did get a few looks when wearing it, one woman recoiled in horror and told her friend to look. They weren’t my type of crowd haha! Plus, if I wore what everyone else did I wouldn’t be me and I certainly wouldn’t be happy. I like standing out!

Montana

4 Responses to “Square Skater”

  1. That is very cool. I love the blocking. I’m the same with knit skirts, so easy and I have a dozen. I did make something like a skater dress self drafted. Wore it a couple of times and then chopped off the bodice and, yep, made it in to a skirt.

  2. I like, i like! Making the back and sleeves a seperate color is intriguing- which means I will be stealing your idea!!!

  3. […] The two above are dresses I have posted here previously, its a coincidence that they’re purple, (it’s my favourite colour). The first pic is a skater dress with a square/handkercheif skirt, made using a pattern I drafted, the details are here. […]

Leave a Reply

