Flaming Cowl Skirt

Hi All,

I finally got around to making a cowl skirt pattern after botching it up the first time 4 years ago in college, I was really put off by it. I have been seeing Sew Smitten’s version for years, after reading it over and over I knuckled down and got to work.

I made sure I was doing everything right, which is abnormal as I like to do things my way… as long as it looks right. I kept referring to the photos on Sew Smitten’s blog and it turned out great! I do have the Winifred Aldrich book this pattern is from but it got confusing without diagrams.

Here is what the pattern piece looks like (cut 2 for both sides)

Cowl skirt pattern

Cowl skirt pattern

It looks odd I know but I’ll try to break it down as best as I can.

*The line in the centre of the pattern is the side “seam” which is actually the drape.

*The sides of the pattern are the centre and back seams (imagine it folded).

*You’d fold the fabric in half and sew the top edge together to form the drape.

*The curved corners are half the waistline at the front and back.

I hope it make sense now, I didn’t get it until I cut the fabric out. I knew the pattern itself was right it was piecing it together.

I measured a 2.5″ wide and 29.5″ long piece of the same fabric to cover 1″ wide elastic. Photos after the jump!

 

 

Cowl Skirt 1

I got this fabric at a fabric store local to where my mom lives, they got a batch of new patterned jersey. I was this and wanted liked it so much, I was going to make a fitted, bodycon dress but the flaming roses are wide so I wasn’t sure that having them run down the middle would look good. I’ll have them at the top, yes that means I’ll be buying more!

Cowl Skirt 2

This is how the shape looks stretched out.

Cowl Skirt 3

I think it drapes nicely on the sides, I want to make a solid black version for interviews/work.

Cowl Skirt 4

 

As you can see I’m very happy with this skirt, I think that’s because it took over 4 years to make! I have completed a cowl skirt dress, I took pics of it after taking these so they’ll be here shortly. I may wear it as a Halloween dress as it’s made from a velvet like jersey, it looks like something I’d buy from alternative stores like Oasis and Blue Banana so thats a massive bonus! Yay!

Montana

5 Responses to “Flaming Cowl Skirt”

  1. Yay! Your skirt looks awesome and that fabric choice is glorious, smoking hot! That Aldrich book is pretty great, isn’t it? I love that shape on skirts. Glad my post helped out, thanks for linking : )

    • I’m happy that you like it! Yes it is a great book, I’ve made a lot of patterns from it over the years. I had to link to you, that’s me showing gratitude for helping out! Thank you 🙂

  2. It looks amazing on you, its so flattering. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. That is cool, the fabric is amazing too!

Leave a Reply

