Velvet Cowl Dress

Hi All,

After the success of my cowl skirt I thought I’d give sewing a dress version a go, so that’s exactly what I did. I used the same pattern pieces I used for my skater dresses (my default patterns for stretch knit bodices) this time I drafted longer sleeves. I should have cut them and the bodice pieces slightly larger as the velvet look fabric didn’t have as much stretch in it than I’m used to so it’s a little tight.

I looks lovely on and I’m glad I was able to make it as I think cowl skirt dresses look elegant and I don’t see them in shops, which I think is a major bonus! I made this dress in black so it’s quite hard to pick up the details on the camera, I think you’ll be able to see some drape on the skirt.

This was a quick make once I sorted out the sleeve length, I originally wanted them very long so I could cut a point at the cuffs and attach a band to put my middle finger through. The fabric is restrictive so I left them as is.

Front Dress

 

I attached the skirt to the bodice but the latter was too short, this resorted in me looking 3 months pregnant. Luckily I have a scrap left over so I made a 3 1/2″ thick waistband to break it up which worked a treat!

Side Dress

If you look closely, you can see the lovely, glossy drape at the side there… do you see it? Good!

Back Dress

Here you can see the style lines clearer, the sleeves are well fitted and turned out great for my first attempt at long sleeves on a knit dress. I’ll do them more often, I only sewn them on bought patterns as I know how they should turn out.

Close Up

I took this to try figure out if it looked alright with the added band, J wasn’t in and I don’t have a full length mirror (on my shopping list). By the way I want to wear this on Halloween with a green checked, hooded cape I’m sewing. I don’t have plans but I every year I like to take note of what I’m wearing and make sure it’s suitably dark and spooky-like.

I’ve bought the fleece to line my cape so it’ll be good on colder days after Halloween, I hope I get a few wears from both this dress and cape!

Montana

P.S: CANNOT WAIT FOR SEW BRUM MEET-UP TOMORROW! Hello to everyone coming along 😀

15 Responses to “Velvet Cowl Dress”

  1. it looks really pretty!

  2. The waist band addition was a great idea.

  3. It was lovely to meet you today Montana! Hope we get chance to do it again! Helen x

  4. You always make the right shapes for you- another sharp creation!

  5. That’s a gorgeous dress!

  6. Wow, that’s lovely. I like the drama of the velvet a lot. Beautiful. I wish I’d made it to the Sew Brum meet up, looked like loads of fun!

  7. Love the style! Works great in the velvet

Leave a Reply

