Clutching At Skulls

Hi All,

Thanks to another Pinterest find (I’ve made 2 skirt patterns this week alone), I made a toile of a clutch about two months ago, heres the mini tutorial.

Make your own clutch

 

My version turned out fine but as it’s made using a flimsy cotton fabric it doesn’t stand too well, so I was thinking about cutting this out in leather and line my clutch with it. Let me know what you think!

I used this fabric for a One Hour Skirt I made much earlier in the year.

Clutch, one piece

This is the shape before sewing

I really like this fabric, it’s in your face but when making simple shapes it looks cute.

Clutch, opened

I interfaced it to give it a bit more body

I haven't added any tabs or buttons yet

I haven’t added any tabs or buttons yet

This was made for practice but I really like how it’s turned out, so I want to keep it. I have a few large pieces of scraps so I’ll make this once more, then try another shape.

Pinterest has saved me buying RTW items as well as buying beauty treatments, I make my own now! I didn’t know there were so many  life hacks… as you can see, I’m hooked on the thing!

Montana

2 Responses to “Clutching At Skulls”

  1. That fabric is so adorable. /)^.^(\ I’m not a fan of clutches (I’m always afraid I’ll set it down and forget it at the store ;-; I need cross body bags) but I do like the shape of this. Very neat. :3

    • Thank you! I feel exactly the same way about clutches but I thought I could use it on nights out or special occasions (which are very rare). I could put a chain or a strip of spikes as a handle, that way I won’t loose it

Leave a Reply

