Boxy Top

Hi All,

It’s been a while since I last posted but I assure you that I have been busy sewing and making patterns, I haven’t got enough daylight hours or a willing photographer!

I’m going to show you a top I sewn using pattern instructions I found on Pinterest (again… trust me, you will be inspired by the fashion alone on there!), which are suitable for a beginner. you could alter them to make a dress.

This is the picture and measurements I used and the results of my version.

suzy

I wanted to try this as I’ve been sewing a few fitted garments and I want to try it out to make a black version to work. I think it went well, I’ll try out a woven version too.

relaxed shape

relaxed shape

This material was £1.00 and end of the roll, there was a table full of off cuts… like a butchers! So I couldn’t pass that opportunity.

I drafted the sleeves slightly longer as I wanted that crumpled look, I also like the raised hem at the front as it looks like I cut it that way.

square bingo wings!

square bingo wings!

This is how it looks when I wave my arms about, pretty much like the separate pattern pieces, I like the effect and the flow in the fabric.

I’ll cut a round/crew neck the next time I sew this and of course make a dress version. I resembles the Hemlock Tee, it’s just larger.

I saw a similar picture to the first one on Pinterest which was a crew neck, no matter how much I stared at it I couldn’t figure out how to sew it. Then I found that diagram! Thanks again Pinerest!

Montana

3 Responses to “Boxy Top”

  1. I love it! Will try myself soon!

Leave a Reply

