Blue Tartan (My First Coat)

Hi All,

I have been busy being festive and working so I haven’t had the chance to blog, although I have a lot of garments to showcase.

Do you remember the bright blue tartan I bought at the Sew Brum Meet Up? I wanted to make a chic blazer but I was being picky about patterns. As it’s Winter I decided to make a sort of overcoat and here’s the result of that decision! I used this sewing pattern for both the outer fabric and the lining in a size large.

Blue Tartan 1

If I bought this RTW this would have cost between £60-£150, probably more! I’m sooo proud of myself, it looks different and well made too, yay me!

Blue Tartan 2

I like how my hand made hat matches it too (bonuses)! I lined the coat with fleece to make it warmer, I do wear layers which helps to keep warm.

What’s also good is it’s reversible so I could wear the tartan on the inside… but why would I do that? I feel much more fancier wearing it as I did above!

Needless to say I get a lot of looks when I wear this, which is often, and I do get complimented on it. When I say I made it, the shock on their faces makes it worth the make alone.

I want to make another 2 with press studs, but it’s just getting the time to sew. I want to find some black tartan so I can make a more subtle version of this, maybe for the warmer months.

Montana

14 Responses to “Blue Tartan (My First Coat)”

  1. Adorable- you look like a bunch of cold weather trouble!!

  2. Your coat looks great!! 😀 I love the bright color. ^.^

  3. It looks so now and trendy and your right it would have cost loads to buy something similar. You go girl!

  4. I love it! The colour is great.

  5. You picked a terrific colour for this, great impact!

  6. Your coat is amazing – the tartan is very cool. I had hoped to make a coat this year but it didn’t happen so I am in awe of people who managed it!

    Louise

  7. […] Creatively Weird… (amongst other things). « Blue Tartan (My First Coat) […]

  8. […] followed me long enough, you may remember that I have used this sewing pattern (M6084) twice before (excuse my fat face) but as […]

Leave a Reply

