Two Tone Madness

Hi All,

I worked on a small project which involved splicing two different coloured t shirts together. It’s simple, cheap and fills a sewing gap.

Oversized two tone

From Killstar co

I was inspired by the photo above (that I found on Pinterest) to go for a monochrome look, only my versions are fitted. I’ll make an oversized mini dress at a later date. My project went well so I think my copy of the above should go smoothly.

I grabbed two t shirts from Primark to make two monochrome tops, I brought larger sizes than I needed to account for any errors I could make.

Here’s how they turned out:

I made one of these before I had my overlocker, so one is sewn and zig zagged, the other is overlocked which was quicker and looks a lot neater on the insides. Plus, doing a project like this means most of the work is done for you.

Raglan two tone

I originally wanted to make the pattern shown above from scratch (which I will still do at some point) but I thought why not try a quick refashioned version to see if I could pull it off. That’s what I did, here are the results.

I also made a reverse version of this, while I was making this I thought it looked like active wear/gym clothing and that was confirmed by J saying the same thing. I think it’s the colours, I may wear it for that.

The only thing I’d change would be cutting a thicker strip of purple t shirt for the sides, so they can be seen from the front like the reference photo

I think the monochrome tops will good with leggings and heels or a pencil skirt, I don’t know I’ll figure something out.

Oversized versions of these are being drafted, I’ll need a lot of very large mens t shirts for them and the scraps can be used as t shirt yarn… which I’ve been meaning to make for months!

Montana

8 Responses to “Two Tone Madness”

  1. wearawyatt Says:

    These are just great…really effective x

  2. Wonderful creations! Well done! I love them. Jana

    http://www.meandmyveritas.wordpress.com

  3. What a great idea! Original looks from very basic garments.

Leave a Reply

