Ankara Print Collection

Hi All,

I know it’s been a very long time since I have posted on here but I have been very active!

I post everything I make on my Instagram (@montanastrange) now! I’m setting up a new business account (@montanadesignz) there too in the mean time.

I’ve decided to make a bold collection using bright and bold African prints and mixing them with delicate lace and sheer fabrics. I have also added chunky knits to the mix, I’m liking the clash they make so far.

Here is what I have so far (this will be photo/video heavy)

The above pics re showing handkerchief/circle top pinned to my mannequin. Heres the finished product

This is me wearing it

Next up is the long shorts!

I’ve put in a waistband and worn them but I want to attach frills on the hems before I show them finished. Not sure whether to use the same fabric or a lace/sheer version instead.

I cannot wait to show you this piece as it’s my favourite!

Did you see I attached a red lace frill on the cuffs! So cute, that what I want to do to the shorts with a wider piece. It’ll be more exaggerated

Last but not least is a pattern I made up, my Chunky Crop! My pattern instructions are on my Ravelry

There’s a video on my Instagram that shows it’s true glory, not enough space to upload it here, sorry!

I started this collection because I was invited to the Young Designer Awards, only to find out that I needed an Avante Garde entry. I haven’t done that for a while but it drove me to make whatever I wanted, I know this isn’t Avant Garde but I am working in some pleats and frills here and there haha

I really do hope this has made up for my absence, I’ve moved house about 3 times and the laptop isnt working. I was thinking to pack this in too, I couldn’t leave so I’m posting this via my phone.

All the best, stay creative!

Montana

Leave a Reply

