Splits In Spots

Hi All,

I have made another quick garment for myself while sewing for my client. 

She gave me left over material she’s had for years, so I made this skirt. 

She has a good eye for quality, printed fabric.

I wanted to keep the length but also have room, you know… for ventilation.

I’ve sewn skirts for others that have requested splits, I realised I don’t have any skirts like this and thought I needed one.

I did realize my whole outfit is monochrome, this was no accident

To make this I sewn two long rectangle pieces together and kept fitting it to me until it was snug. I hemmed the edges and side splits, then inserted elastic in the waistband. Make sure to wrap the elastic to your waist, plus an inch overlap before cutting it.

I finished and wore this yesterday, I feel as though this is slightly different to what I’ve seen in any shop. I’m keeping this one but I’ll be making more from different fabric for my shop.

Happy crafting,

Montana

Leave a Reply

